top of page

Dinner and a Robbery (Part 5)

Updated: May 13, 2021

No wonder Paige is always wearing a turtleneck. She lives in a cave.


Page 18


Okay, last time I said there was a pretty cool reason that I set this story in Seattle and it's for this "underground Seattle" setting for Paige's hideout. Not only did I think it was cool but I thought it was a nice parallel to Locke's Old Vegas hideout. This is of course attractive to Locke because (as my id) he's not the opposites attract sort and is looking for someone like him who might understand him. Also this is a real thing in Seattle.


The opening narration box on this page is yet ANOTHER Mallrats referecne becasue Paige drives a Mini Cooper. (Yes, I know it's supposed to be a VW in that case.)


Is this this the first ninja turtles joke in this comic? It can't be, right? Maybe it is. I've loved the turtles since I was a little kid and I still do. Donatello for life.


I'm not sure what is more adorable in the bottom sequence on this page; Locke trying to show off or Paige letting him.


Page 19


Cribs: Jewel Thief edition. Not the most exciting episode given Paige's fairly spartan existence but unlike Locke she probably doesn't live where she works.


In panel five Locke finally remembers he's in a heist book and not a rom-com. (Or are you, buddy?) Paige, is of course, ready.


Page 20


So another thing I said last time is that I don't really do 'talking heads' pages. I probably should have read ahead so I wouldn't have to immediately eat my words. Actually this page is an exception for a reason. I wanted to show that Locke was really analyzing this plan and that Paige was unflinchingly (literally) confident in it. Locke's somewhat cartoony expressions work off her deadpan pretty well.


This is also a rare case of me using a standard grid for a layout. I love me some Fantagraphics alt-comics but it drives me crazy that all those creators marry themselves to a strict panel grid. Panel shape is a storytelling device unique to comics and I'll never understand why certain genres within comics seem to want to have nothing to do with it.


Of course there's no situation that Locke was going to say no because a pretty girl is asking and also so the story can happen. At least he gets to end the page on a pretty cool reaction shot.


NEXT WEEK: First date



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page